I Review Everything: Day 190 – Fixing My Desk

About a week after I built my desk, I broke it. Built is kind of incorrect anyway, bought is the truth. I have a tendency to rest my feet on the support beam, which prematurely snapped from the pressure. I then spent the rest of the year with a broken beam, and an insanely wobbly desk. Today that changed.

Max decided he wanted to fix it. I mean it was partly spurred on by my own annoyance of it’so wobbling, but he was the one who actually did it. I helped, when I could, which means I didn’the help much. He did basically all the work, while I just held some wood up.

The entire process caused me to marvel at humans a little, as I thought about how great of a grip we have over manipulating our environment from our needs. It’seems amazing to think that anyone can do it as well, it’s not really restricted. As long as you have the money for tools, the patience for failure, and the desire to learn, you can build and fix things. Which is cool. It’s cool that we figured that out. It’s pretty amazing really.

The wobbles have now left my desk, and I have a renewed respect for human beings.

8/10

Leave a comment