I Review Everything: Day 126 – Farewell Disney Inifnity

Disney Infinity has been cancelled. They will release no further sequels. Everything planned is now gone. All we have left are the remnants of an ambitious franchise, that failed to capture more imaginations the way it caught people like me. Over manufacturing of stock is supposedly what caused the failure. Not enough people were buying the figurines. They simply built too many.

Infinity-1000x523.jpg

Now I must say goodbye. At least kind of. The previous games still exist, and I still have all my figurines. I’m not losing anything really, only potential. I’ve always enjoyed Disney Infinity, even through all the clunky gameplay, boring playsets, and weird character choices. I just loved the concept. I got to collect figurines, and play games at the same time. It was awesome seeing the games progress as well. They just kept getting better, with no signs of slowing. It’s unfortunate that it had to halt. I genuinely will miss the series.

I still remember the giant box I had to carry on the bus for Disney Infinity 2.0. I remember when I only had six figurines. Looking at my collection now, I don’t regret it. Sure it was a lot of money. But I had a lot of genuine fun. In a world full of realism inspired, gritty games; Disney Infinity was a chance to unwind with my favourite Disney Characters. I could go farming with Spider-Man, racing with Luke Skywalker, and loot hunting with Rapunzel. You can’t say that about many other games.

Disney-Infinity-3-Character-Development-Judy.jpg

 

Another thing I will miss is the couch co-op. A dying game feature, couch co-op is still a great way to spend time with friends, especially in a game so simple and fun. Everyone who played with me spoke of how fun the game was. Whether we were fighting robots from the Incredibles, or destroying the Death Star with Darth Vader, we simply had a good time.

I will miss Disney Infinity. But I will never forget it. I will still play from time to time, and I will continue to display my figurines. But I will never forget the series.

My bank account will surely be happy though.

7/10
The cancellation is bad. The memories are not.

 

Leave a comment