I Review Everything: Day 115 – Buying a Birthday Present

Birthdays still feel weird to me. Being raised without them, it was a weird jump into a world where they seem to play such a prominent role in people’s lives. I’m really not a fan. The idea of celebrating something so common perplexes me. It never really feels like an accomplishment to reach another year of life. But who am I to complain? If it makes people happy, and doesn’t hurt anyone, then it must be good right?

It’s Melissa’s birthday today. I hadn’t bought her a present. Now, before you become riled up in disdain, it’s actually her fault that I hadn’t already bought her a present. See, there’s nothing that she wanted. And on top of that, she didn’t want me buying her something that would eventually become a bitsy thing that she’ll have to move. So I was stuck. I did search town a few days earlier, but was told that if I couldn’t find anything dinosaur related, to just simply buy her nothing at all. I couldn’t find anything dinosaur related, they simply just aren’t popular right now, so I didn’t buy her anything.

Melissa knew what she really wanted, it was just a distance to get there. A distance that required a car. One our flatmates Chris and Janelle were so gracious to provide. I’m glad we did this, instead of me choosing something for her. Her own decision creates a happier experience for both of us. No hassle for me, and she gets exactly what she wants. Two high quality dinosaur figurines. They are actually really cool. Not something I would buy for myself, but still a cool thing to look at whenever I’m in her room.

It ended up being so much easier than I had originally thought. It was fun even, seeing her get so excited for them. Just as I would for a Luke Skywalker figurine, or anything with Spider-Man’s face on it. It’s nice seeing other people feel that way, no matter what it’s for.

9/10

 

Leave a comment